Day 37 Centerville to Eminence 6/9 “Rotting”

Stats:
Miles:45.33
Calories:5,765
Top speed:34.5
Average speed:8.5
We had a good night’s sleep in the park in front of the courthouse. Lisa’s alarm clock chimed in at 5:30am. We were packed up and ready to walk over to the local diner at 7:00am. Breakfast was 2 eggs and hash browns with plenty of coffee.
Phil and Linda joined us. They rode in about 5pm last night and spent the night in the park as well. Breakfast completed, Lisa and I began our climb in the Ozarks. The first half was not too bad as we were in the Arcadia Valley, but by the afternoon the hills were nonstop and most were 12-16% grades.
For a breather, we stopped in Ellington to pick up a few supplies and I made a stop at the Pharmacy. The heat rash I have had on my right side for nearly 2 weeks has not gone away.

“A Reminder Pic”

I discussed my problem with the sales person wondering if diaper rash cream would do the trick. She said, “Let me ask”. She went over and whispered my rash issue with the pharmacy tech. The pharmacy tech came over and asked to see it. I pulled down my waistband. “Hummm”, she said with a bit of a frown. She went over to the Pharmacist and whispered. “Hummm”, said the Pharmacist. The Pharmacist came over, “Tell me about that rash”. Well, “ It started as a heat rash and was welted for a week. Now it is just itchy and seems to be spreading. “I think this is fungal”, said the Pharmacist.

What!!!! Now I’m rotting?? I was sold some athlete’s foot/jock itch cream. I have used it for two days now and it seems to be working. Maybe I won’t rot after all.
As the afternoon progressed it began to mist, then sprinkle, then rain, then pour! There are a lot of things I can take in stride; cycling in the rain is not one of them. It becomes so challenging as most any rain jackets (even the “breathable” ones) sweat. Climbing hills a person is going to sweat anyway, add a rain jacket and rain pants…it’s no picnic.

I have no pictures for today as once the rain started it poured.
The hills were tough. It is said the hills between, Ellington and Eminence are the toughest on the whole TransAmerica. They were tough but, as Lisa and I were talking, I don’t think they were as tough as the hills in eastern Kentucky. Phil and Linda stopped at some cabins about 7 miles before Eminence, they decided to say at the cabins. We decided to continue on the last 7 miles into Eminence. The rain continued and the miles never seemed to end, it was one of those times when one must dig deep and keep on going.

We made it though and rode into Eminence looking like two drowned rats. We stopped at a local dairy queen and asked the locals for information about camping or hotels. Ice cream under our belts and armed with options we headed across the bridge. The first place with cabins to rent was too pricey and they suggested the Shady Lane down the road. It was a good option as they also had a laundry mat. They knocked off $10 dollars maybe because we looked so miserable and pathetic. The cabin room was large and we enjoyed a real bed and hot shower. By 10:30pm I could not keep my eyes open any longer and drifted off to sleep.
…I’ll keep you posted.

One thought on “Day 37 Centerville to Eminence 6/9 “Rotting”

  1. I can just see the whole pharmacy department consulting with you on your rash! Glad the cream they recommended is working!

Leave a comment