Day 30 Marion to Golconda 6/1

Stats:
Miles: 35.42
Calories: 3,633
Top speed: 32.5
Average speed: 8.5

We left the church hostel at 7:15am, perhaps a record for us. The only place to eat in Marion is McDonald’s. We were told the only other restaurant was closed, a familiar story in these small towns. Joining us was another cyclist from Minnesota. He was riding west to east. I order 2 scrambled eggs 2 hash browns and coffee. As we got ready to leave Lisa asked the cashier where she could fill her water bottles. It surprised her, and me, that the cashier said, “If I fill them I will have to charge you for a medium drink”. Seriously, for water? We chose the bathroom sink. There was a previous clue of their lack of generosity, a sign stated, “There is a charge for extra condiments”.  Seeing the sign I ordered my coffee with 4 creams instead of 3, just in case. I thought it was rather appalling to even suggest that to fill a water bottle would cost about 2 bucks.  But, if one is the only game in town, I guess one can do want every one want.

“Melinda Philosophizing”- As we continued down the road out of Marion, I couldn’t let the McDonald issue go, I found myself dwelling on the absurdity of charging for water, I wonder what the McDonald’s franchise board would think of that. Here is an interesting tid bit about human behavior. Often, but not always, when one gets irritated or upset by something, it is often a reflection of oneself. For example, the McDonald’s woman’s lack of generosity reminded me of my own lack of generosity at times, that is why it irritated me so.

We enjoyed a nice downhill and saw two deer scamper into the undergrowth. About 5 miles in my energies began to fade. I drank some water and ate a Luna bar. I reminded myself that I recently had breakfast. There are days when ones energies and up and days when they are down, this was a down day. I took some electrolyte capsules and began to feel better. Lisa reminded me to drink more water. Good advice.

After 12 miles we said goodbye to Kentucky.

IMG_2777

We boarded a ferry-boat for a short ride across the Ohio River to the small town of “Cave in Rock” named after, yes, a big cave in a big rock.

From the ferry we rode less than a mile. We parked out bikes, locked them out of habit, and walked a short distance to see the cave. From what we were told, when the river runs high, one cannot get into the cave. The cave opens facing the Ohio River. Swallows dance round the high rock to and fro from their mud nests they have attached to the large high boulders.

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The cave was deep and had a magical quality. I wondered how the Native Americans had used the cave, for ceremonies or council. The cave must go back 200 feet. There is a split in the rock in the ceiling so the sun shines in eliminates a slice of the ground.

IMG_2791

IMG_2789

The sunlight shining on the floor of the cave

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The day wore on; I never seemed to regain my energies. I increased my water which helped. About 11:30am we arrived in  Elizabethtown which is on the bank of the Ohio River. This was the last stop for food so we decided to break early for lunch. There were not many options but decided on the Rivertown Café. They were offering an all you can eat Sunday Buffet. I gorged myself. I ate 5 pieces of fried chicken minus the fried coating, 2 large portions of mashed potatoes, some chicken and broccoli rice, a side salad, and some cherry cobbler minus the cobbler.  We ate until we thought we would bust!  As we ate we spoke with many of the patrons about our trip. They were interested in the Senior Retirement Project and, as always, wished us well on our journey.  As we were getting ready to leave the waitress came by and told us the “Rosie” had paid for our lunch. We were surprised and very happy. Thank you Rosie for your generosity.

As we stepped outside to digest and noticed a storm moving in, within 15 minutes the skies darkened and it began to rain. As we spent at least 45 mins talking with diners coming in or out about our trip. We met the President of the Ohio River Scenic Byway. She gave us copy of their magazine highlighted local artisans and provides a history of the area.  www.ohioriverscenicbyway.net

There was a lull in the rain so we decide to make a run for it, but within 10 mins it began to rain.  We continued to travel west over many rollers making out way to Golconda. Our original destination was Eddyville but we spent so much time at the café we knew we would not make it. There was a state park in Golconda so we made that the new destination. We saw the sign for the state park but it looked more like a driveway. A woman “Connie” was out front. We asked Connie about the state park. “It’s closed and has not been maintained”. Oh great, now what!  Connie quickly became our third trail angel. She said we could camp in her back yard. I suggest the newly completed garage in case it rained.  She let us shower and wash clothes and we enjoyed visiting with her family and friends, what more could a touring cyclist want!

THANKS CONNIE!

 

 

One thought on “Day 30 Marion to Golconda 6/1

Leave a comment