My bags are packed I’m ready to go…..well sort of.

Training miles last week: 77.8 cycling miles.

Had a good riding weekend. However, most notable was the wind, both days.  Jodee and I rode in the countryside, the best place to ride. The picture is of an old country school house. ImageA plaque on the building reports it is on the Historic Registry. We sat on the front porch and ate the lunch we had packed.  If one listened carefully one could almost hear the laughter of children in the blowing wind, their essence can still be felt within the peeling paint and stone foundation.

Back to reality. As you can see from the picture my suitcase is full. I have had to beg for free space in Lisa’s and Jodee’s carry-ons for my tent and clothes bag. I keep looking at and lifting the suitcase and saying, “Really? I need all of that”? And yes, it is all necessary.Image

My only error, thus far, was when I ordered that big blue bottle of electrolytes in the suitcase; I ordered tablets rather than capsules. I swear the bottle weighs a pound, should have gotten capsules as they are much lighter. Oh well, I’ll probably go through half of them climbing the Appalachians!

My calendar is booked solid for the next 7 days and don’t think I will be able to squeeze in a final bike ride before we board our plane a week from today. I’m sure we will get a bit of riding in during our week in North Carolina before we head up to Yorktown on May 2nd.    ….I’ll keep you posted.

 

2 thoughts on “My bags are packed I’m ready to go…..well sort of.

  1. What an exciting and wonderful idea. I love this trip, and look forward to following along. Will you let us know the ETA for your arrival and transit through Central Oregon? Would love to do a ‘ride along’ with some local seniors, maybe from Sisters to the top of MacKenzie pass when you make it here. Email me if you’re interested. Elementexercise@gmail.com.

    • That would be fantastic! We’ll look forward to it. I’ll make a note in my calendar, if I get side tracked be sure to send me a reminder on the blog when we enter Oregon. Thanks for following along.

Leave a comment